Cast thy net and you shall catcheth

When I was preparing to be a teacher as a fledgling undergrad (I can’t believe it’s been about eight years since I graduated!), I thought that “networking” was a term only used for TV programming and fishing. I assumed that my B.S. and my student teaching would sell my abilities properly and BOOM! I would get the job I would keep for the rest of my life.

So, I have been sending my resume out to my friends and acquaintances, in order to “catch” more contacts, which may lead me to the job God has for me.  I got my previous positions through friends and friends of friends.  I am disciplining myself to wean off the internet and to let myself socialize and do things that I will not have time to do once I am re-initiated into 9-5ville.  I am thankful that I don’t have to rely solely on my wit and willpower and personality to get a job.

While I am not an advocate of passivity and lack of discipline in the job hunting/career changing journey – I am also thankful that my relationship with Jesus Christ has been carrying me through. 

I am far from the stereotypical Victorian Bible beating Church Lady, as showcased through Dana Carvey’s excellent acting skills on old school Saturday Night Live. In fact, I drink beer and bourbon and I watch Roseanne. However, the knowledge that I am loved and protected by Christ has really helped me through life’s incredibly difficult seasons.

If you are reading this and you want to learn more about Jesus, feel free to shoot me an email at sourapplesunite@gmail.com  If you are opposed to my belief system, please continue to hang out here!  This blog is designed for a diverse set of people with backgrounds in the field of education.

Leave a Reply

